Skip to Main Content
Voice Recognition

Resident Educator Consortium

Resident Educator Consortium

In July 2009, Ohio House Bill 1 mandated a new four tiered licensure system for teachers in Ohio. The new system includes a four-year resident educator license that replaced the two-year provisional license. The four-year residency recognizes new teachers need sustained coaching, mentoring, and guidance during the initial years of their career in order to ensure long term success as professional educators. Successful completion of the Resident Educator Program is required to qualify for a five-year professional educator license.

To help local school districts implement the Resident Educator Program, the ESC of Lake Erie West has formed a Resident Educator Consortium. The purpose of the consortium is to provide technical assistance and professional development to the important stakeholders in the Resident Educator Program – resident educators, mentors, and principals.

Participating Districts

  • Anthony Wayne
  • Eastwood
  • Elmwood
  • ESC of Lake Erie West
  • Lake
  • Maumee
  • North Baltimore
  • Northwood
  • Otsego
  • Ottawa Hills
  • Rossford
  • Springfield
  • Sylvania
  • Washington Local 
  • Wood County ESC 

Contact Information

For Information about the Resident Educator Consortium, contact:

Kim Sofo
[email protected]

Elizabeth Kregel
[email protected]